Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander readers are advised that the following website may contain names, images and voices of people who have died.



NAIDOC SA Committee

Joyleen Thomas Chairperson

Joyleen is a Kokatha woman and has been a leader in Aboriginal engagement and public sector employment for over 30 years. She has worked tirelessly during this time to improve the working lives of Aboriginal public sector employees in South Australia as an Aboriginal community leader. Her relentless efforts to set a level playing field for First Nations Peoples has earned her national recognition leading to the latest, and most prestigious acknowledgement:  the Australia Day Honors – Public Sector Medal. She has been involved with NAIDOC SA for many years both as Chairperson and Board member.

Kyran Dixon Deputy Chairperson

Brenz Saunders Jnr

Brenz is a Wirangu and Kokatha man from Ceduna, South Australia, he is the Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Garu InfoTech and has over five years of experience working in the public sector in Ministerial aid and corporate service roles, and within the private sector leading his tech company Garu InfoTech. He has a background in Business Management and is currently the Deputy Chairperson for Tauondi Aboriginal College and also sits on the Board of Directors for Far West Coast Investments..

Donald Hayward

Mr Don Hayward is a Noongar Man who moved to Adelaide in 1983 and is currently Pastor of the Aboriginal Berean Community Church located at Cheltenham.
He is Married to Kali Hayward and has four children; Joshua, Caleb, Isaac and Cassiah.

Don has been organising for the last four years, the SA NAIDOC Week Ecumenical Church Service, firstly with Aunty Lowitja Donoghue and now Mrs Vonda Last. 
So for the last four years has been seconded onto the SA NAIDOC Week Committee.

"I Look forward to this SA NAIDOC Week in highlighting the incredible contribution Aboriginal women have made to the community and Church, past, present and in the future. ‘Because Of Her We Can’. God bless Pastor Don".

Chelsea Dann, Treasurer

Jeremy Johncock

 Charlotte Dare




NAIDOC SA Ambassadors


Simone Tur

Simone Ulalka Tur is the from the Yankunytjatjara community, north-west South Australia and has resided in Adelaide on Kaurna Yarta, South Australia. Simone is the inaugural Pro Vice Chancellor Indigenous at Flinders University. She also lectures to Indigenous and non-Indigenous students each year, representing her educational philosophy of privileging Indigenous cultures, languages and ideologies as a deconstruction and de-colonising educational process. Simone is been part of four Aboriginal women academic/artist collective, The Unbound Collective, who enacts critical creative responses to colonial archives.

Eunice Aston

I am a Ngarrindjeri woman, I have spent most of my life working within the health domain, particularly with the Family Wellbeing Program (counselling skills), Kalparrin Community Inc (substance misuse programs), Aboriginal Education, and Aboriginal Community Health.
My extensive knowledge and experience when engaging with Aboriginal people and country, including the necessary skills to maintain respect, honesty, integrity and confidentiality. This has been developed through the variety of Aboriginal health and community leadership positions undertaken over the past 20 years.   For the past 4 years it has been my privilege to be a NAIDOC SA Ambassador and forward to continuing to work and celebrate our peoples cultures and achievements.

Klynton Wanganeen

Klynton has a long history as an advocate for Aboriginal affairs at state and national levels and has played an active role in native title matters on behalf of Narungga Nation. Klynton has served as Commissioner for Aboriginal Engagement in South Australia, Chair of Tandanya National Aboriginal Cultural Institute, Zone Commissioner of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (ATSIC) and Chairman of the Patpa Warra Yunti and Regional Council. Klynton continues to serve on many government and non-government boards and committees contributing to policy and program development for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders.


 adac logo AHCSA logo  CoA horizontal logo NIAA centacareLogo
1519881547145 crows logo 20150616 060409.542169dpccolv 2 child protection department
K Roo logo logo maxima
Nood Logo 
Pangula Mannamurna 2020 Logo 425px e1595917379866 red cross logo
redbax logo  santos logo TAFE SA GOSA Stacked RGB